The Bearded Gallant and the Butcher’s Wife

Circling these thoughts of an endearing invitation
One can only wonder if it’s an infliction of a disillusioned and reckless condition of the mind

May my words be effectual as I lay my heart open?
How do I break free from the silence of an abounding fear of dejection?

Carrying the weight of this life…ridged and detached
A gully of insecurities and half hearted modes of affection grows beneath me
With every curtsy and morning mum before day break
My subtle cries for acknowledgement and marital endearment fall to the weight of the days slop

If only I could break free
Yet these manacles of self-doubt tie me back to a dispiriting reality
This blood shall never wash from my gown
…but I just want to see

I want to know…
Perhaps it is he…
That is to rescues this heart and uproot these barren feet
Washing away the sands of a sheltered past, restoring the life inside me

I just want to see…
I want to know…
Perhaps it is he…

0210122012

Side Note: This piece was inspired by the movie “The Girl With a Pearl Earring” which is based on the story behind one of the most well-known masterworks of   Dutch painter Johannes Vermeer “The Girl With a Pearl Earring”.

One thought on “The Bearded Gallant and the Butcher’s Wife

  1. Pingback: URL

Thanks for reading I look forward to your feedback

